Saturday in Haworth, Yorkshire

Despite having been born in Yorkshire and having lived here for 21 of my 27 years, I still love exploring the county. Although there are still lots of places that I haven’t been to yet, I like re-visiting some old favourites; hence, this week’s trip to Haworth, West Yorkshire. If you are interested in Victorian literature, then chances are that you’d heard of this place: it is the town in which the Brontë sisters lived and wrote their novels. The last time I visited this place (according to my mum), it was in 1992 and I cried because I was scared of the steam trains! This time there were no tears in sight, it was a lovely day trip.

20180217_153843315_iOS

First we stopped off for lunch at the Haworth Old Hall (it was quite busy so book in advance). It is a beautiful seventeenth-century building and the period features make this place cozy and special. The menu was good pub food: I had the burger and chunky chips, my boyfriend had beetroot and squash wellington, and we shared some halloumi fries. I washed this all down with a pint of cider whilst we chatted about our favourite Victorian books (and least favourite, I’m looking at you The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman!).

Old Haworth hall Lisabeth Westwood

20180217_131005424_iOS

Then it was off to the Brontë Parsonage museum! The entrance fee was £8.50 but this gives you unlimited access for a year! I didn’t take any pictures in the parsonage itself, but it was such a pretty buiding. It was so interesting to see where the sisters wrote, look at their letters and childhood drawings. I learnt so much, they led such interesting, but sadly short, lives.

20180217_153843315_iOS.jpg

20180217_153813489_iOS

We had a little look around Haworth, the gardens, churches, and even saw some very fancy chickens strutting around. It would have been nice to stay for a cuppa and a scone in one of the cafés or look round the heritage railway station, but it was getting late. Haworth is such a pretty town and set in some beautiful countryside less than an hour’s drive from Leeds. A perfect spot for the Brontë enthusiast (you can definitely the inspiration for Heathcliff’s moody wanderings on the moors), but interesting for anyone wanting a day trip to somewhere with some fascinating history. Highly recommend!

Please let me know if you have any suggestions for fun day trips out!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Saturday in Haworth, Yorkshire

  1. What a marvelous day trip! I’m so glad you overcame your fear of steam engines to give us this lovely peek around your “neighborhood.” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment