Lisabeth Westwood love rouge cupcake

My Lazy Saturday and the Three Best Cafés

I like nothing better than spending a lazy Saturday drinking coffee and eating delicious food at coffee shops.

I’m lucky that there are some lovely independent cafés in my local area. Love Rouge Bakery, The Bowery, and Whites are all on the same street and all serve great food and great coffee in a relaxed environment.

Love Rouge Bakery @LoveRougeBakery

51 Otley Rd, Headingley, Leeds, LS6 3AB

Lisabeth Westwood Love Rouge cafeAs the name suggests this café bakes wonderful cakes, cupcakes, brownies, and more for your delight. They also make cakes and cupcakes to order for special occasions. I go there a lot for the cake: there are a HUGE range of cupcake flavours and always a layered cake or two. But today I headed there for breakfast and it was oh so good.

I have a sweet tooth (their maple syrup and bacon pancakes are delish) but today I went for savoury waffles, poached eggs, veggie sausage, and a little dressed salad. fullsizerenderI love to go there on a weekday afternoon and settle down in one of their comfy leather sofas with a book, slice of cake, and a flat white. It has a really chilled vibe and the staff are lovely. Their hot chocolates are great to take-away on a cold, winter morning.Lisabeth Westwood love rouge cupcake

The Bowery, @theboweryarts

54 Otley Road, Headingley, Leeds, LS6 2AL

Lisabeth Westwood Bowery cafeThis is such a gem. It houses a gallery, shop, and a coffee shop that does lovely lunches. They even run short courses and workshops on creative writing, sewing, and drawing, amongst others.

It is a quiet and relaxed café with the best coffee in Headingley and some amazing sandwiches. The manchego and chorizo focaccia sandwich is to die for – I wish I had a photo but I always eat it as soon as it arrives.Lisabeth Westwood bowery cafeI love to buy the Sunday paper and spend a long afternoon reading and drinking so much coffee. Their range of cakes isn’t that extensive so if you want a sweet treat, then I’d recommend the Bakery instead.

Whites, @whitescafebar

9 Otley Rd, Headingley, Leeds, LS6 2UJ

Lisabeth Westwood whitesThis coffee shop/restaurant/bar is cool and is always full with such a diverse clientele. They host regular events and gigs in the evenings but their lunches are a great shout.

Their Eggs Benedict is delicious with the perfect poached eggs and their coffee is pretty decent too! I like to come here after work for a beer or a glass of wine to relax after a long day surrounded by lots of people meeting up with friends…or going on dates (they are always fun to watch!).

I’m slowly making my way through all the cafés in Leeds. Let me know if you have any amazing coffee shop recommendations for me to visit!

7 thoughts on “My Lazy Saturday and the Three Best Cafés

Leave a Reply

