Book Review: The Girl in the Spider’s Web

The Girl in the Spider’s Nest by David Lagercrantz

FullSizeRender.jpg

This is the fourth in the Millenium series originally written by Stieg Larsson. Larsson wrote the first three (first in Swedish and now in English translation) and they became very popular around 2010. I was working on a campsite on the Adriatic Coast in Italy and every time a family left the site they usually left one of the three original series behind.

Larsson died in 2004 and Lagercrantz has taken over the series. I got this book for my birthday from my sister as I really enjoyed the first three. I loved the protagonists: Mikael Blomkvist and Lisbeth Salander. They had a very interesting connection, and I like that Larsson and Lagercrantz to the same approach to the characters’ relationship.

The publisher calls this a crime novel but I think it is more crime thriller: it is left-field detective work that solves the crimes of powerful criminals undertaken by characters’ that don’t play by the rules. The first three books focus more on Lisabeth Salander’s family whereas The Girl in the Spider’s Web looks more at cyber crime and hacking – common themes from the earlier novels.

Lagercrantz’s Blomkvist and Salander aren’t as convincing as Larsson’s as their internal world and thinking aren’t as clearly represented. But, the plot moves quickly, and the drama is very much present. I read it so so quickly and I kept being surprised at all the twists and turns in the narrative. It isn’t going to win the Best Book Ever award but I very much enjoyed it. At just under 500 pages it is the perfect size for a holiday read for a long-haul flight.

4 stars!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Girl in the Spider’s Web

  1. Jessica Emily says:

    Interesting .. I’m tempted to read it because I love the first three so much but then also a bit like… It’s not the same author so it won’t be the same?! I probably will end up reading it once I’ve finished my current stack! Thanks

    Like

  2. lisabethwestwood says:

    It isn’t as good as the first three but I think Lagercrantz has done a decent job. The characters aren’t written in quite the same way but that is to be expected. It is in paperback too so you can get a copy for £7.99.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

