Recipe: Chilli Con Carne

Chilli is my favourite home-cooked meal: it was one of the first things I learnt to cook when I went to university and I made it almost every week! My and my old housemates would make a big pot with some rice and garlic bread (with wine of course): they were some of the best evenings for me. What is better than eating good food with good company.

Chilli is everything you want in a food: it is spicy, comforting, and delicious. What’s even better is that it goes with rice, pasta, baked potatoes – pretty much anything really so it is a really versatile dish. It is perfect for lunchboxes, autumn evenings, dining alfresco on a summer’s night.

If you were to come to my house for dinner the chances are that I’d be whipping up a batch of chilli. I mostly make vegan chillis but I thought I’d share my recipe for the meaty version.

Ingredients

chilli ingredients face on

  •  500g beef mince
  • 1 onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped finely
  • 1 courgette
  • 1 red pepper
  • Half a carrot
  • 400g can of kidney beans
  • 500g carton of passata
  • 1 tsp each of cumin, chilli flakes, cinnamon
  • Optional: chocolate, tomato purée, beef stock cube

Serves

This makes a HUGE panful so this will last me for about 5 servings but it depends on your portion size.

Method

  1. Chop all the vegetables. I chop the onions finely and the rest roughly diced.
  2. Heat the oil in the pan and add the onion. Sauté for about 6 mins, stirring frequently until lightly browned.
  3. Then add the spices and garlic with 3 tablespoons of cold water. Stir well.chilli spices

Note: I like spicy food so you might want to change the quantity of the chilli flakes according to your preference.

4. Cook for several minutes until the spices are cooked through. Then add the vegetables and stir well to mix and cover all the veg with the spices.

chilli veg

5. Cook the vegetables for about 10 minutes then add the mince. Lightly brown the mince.

6. Add the passata. Then fill the carton with cold water and add this to the pan. Stir well. If you are adding any of the optional ingredients, do so now. Season with salt and pepper.

7. Turn the hob down to a simmer and leave for 15 minutes.

chilli no kidneys

8. Drain and rinse the kidney beans; add them to the pan and stir well.

chilli kidneys

9. Leave for as long as you can on a low simmer. Stirring every so often to ensure the chilli does not stick to the pan.

10. Serve with whatever carbs and accoutrements you like (sour cream, grated cheese etc.)

chilli finished

 

I hope you all like this recipe and I’m going to go tuck in a big bowl right now!

Check out my post about my favourite food blogs!

 

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Chilli Con Carne

Leave a Reply

