My Weekend on a Budget

Being a PhD student has many advantages but it doesn’t allow for an overly extravagant lifestyle. So, I have had to get creative with my weekend plans to get the most of out my time without it costing the earth!

Thursday – Making Pizza

This past weekend my boyfriend (let’s call him B) was visiting and I wanted to plan something fun. He was driving up from the South and wouldn’t get here until quite late so I wanted to make something delicious, easy, and cheap for our dinner. I settled for pizza as it is quite hard to mess it up. Well I say that but, the last time I made it, I tried to move the fully loaded pizza to the oven without a tray and it all fell onto the floor, and looked like a sad, tomato-y mess. I digress. So, I used this Delia Smith recipe for the base:

6 oz (175 g) plain white soft flour
1 level teaspoon salt
1 level teaspoon easy-blend dried yeast
½ level teaspoon golden caster sugar
1 tablespoon olive oil

Then I topped it with chorizo and mozzarella. It tasted great but looked rather rustic and by rustic I mean misshapen!

Friday – Attempting Crafts

As I said earlier, I have to stick to quite a strict budget but this means I always have my eyes pealed for any fun-looking, free events. I saw an advert for an event where you could explore exhibitions at night and there were various crafty things to do plus two free drinks each! We went along and had such a fun time: I used colouring pencils for the first time in 20 years and I must admit that my drawing skills have not improved much since then. Then we went to a finger knitting stand and I made myself a little coaster! It is a bit lumpy but I was very proud. It was actually quite therapeutic: I might start doing it whilst watching Netflix in the evenings.

IMG_4146

My finger knitted coaster!

Saturday – Free Museum 

I’m lucky to live in Yorkshire as it is such a beautiful county and there is a surprising amount to do, if you don’t mind stepping outside your comfort zone.  The Royal Armouries is based in Leeds and it is meant to be a really interesting museum. It is a bit of a trek from my house but we had such a good time! Even if swords and crossbows aren’t your thing but you should go for the elephant armour! Oh, and Henry VIII’s over-sized codpiece.

 

 

